VAYD hears from Jack Schlossberg at Annual Convention

For more information:
Isaac Sarver

Young Democrats Hear from Jack Schlossberg at Annual Convention

Grandson of John F. Kennedy Addresses VAYD at Richmond Convention

From March 30th to April 1st, the Virginia Young Democrats (VAYD) gathered for their annual convention in Richmond, VA and were joined by keynote speaker John “Jack” Bouvier Kennedy Schlossberg. Jack, an activist and Young Democrat who attends Yale University, is the son of Edwin Schlossberg and Caroline Kennedy. Jack called upon VAYD members to take action, urging the crowd of young people to stand up and fight for their values in 2012. Schlossberg was joined by his mother at the banquet, held at the Epic Theatre in downtown Richmond.

“We were honored to have Jack Schlossberg as our keynote speaker,” said Jamie Nolan, VAYD Convention Chair.” Our convention theme forthis year was “Can’t Stop, Won’t Stop,” and with Jack Schlossberg’s activism and youthful energy, he was the perfect person to address our members!”

The annual convention allows members of the Virginia Young Democrats conduct business, elect new officers, and celebrate the achievements of young activists. The newly elected officers of the Virginia Young Democrats include:

Executive Committee Members

President: Isaac Sarver (Dublin, VA)
Executive Vice President: Antonio Elias (McLean, VA)
Membership Director: Meghan Czaikoski (Woodbridge, VA)
Political Director: Hannah Wiegard (Chester, VA)
Campaign Director: Gonzalo Aida (Richmond, VA)
Finance Director: Jamie Nolan (Richmond, VA)
Communications Director: James Lewis (Alexandria, VA)
National Committeeman: Richard Fowler (Alexandria, VA)
National Committeewoman: Shaunica Pridgen (Alexandria, VA)
Council of Presidents Chair: Rex Young (Charlottesville, VA)
Outreach Chair: Megan Adamczewski (Fairfax, VA)
Secretary: Trent Armitage (Arlington, VA)
Treasurer: Michael Phillips (Christiansburg, VA)

Regional Chairs

Central Region Chair: Donald Moss (Richmond, VA)
Northern Region Chair: Matt Bell (Clifton, VA)
Southeast Region Chair: Jamal Gunn (Virginia Beach, VA)
Southside Region Chair: Madeline DuCharme (Charlottesville, VA)
Southwest Region Chair: Jack Bardo (Blacksburg, VA)
Valley Region Chair: Alex Berry (Harrisonburg, VA)

Constituency Caucus Chairs

City/County Caucus Chair: Tavarris Spinks (Richmond, VA)
College Caucus Chair: Roma Moradian (Great Falls, VA)
Teen Caucus Chair: Andrew Crider (Vienna, VA)

Issue Caucus Chairs

Disability Issues Caucus Chair: Laura Kleiner (Staunton, VA)
Environmental Caucus Chair: Danielle Simms (Arlington, VA)
Faith Caucus Chair: Andrew Anderson (Williamsburg, VA)
Labor Caucus Chair: Alexander Preve (Charlottesville, VA)
LBGTQA Chair: Charles Bright (Arlington, VA)
Minority Caucus Co-Chair: Ian Jordan (Richmond, VA)
Minority Caucus Co-Chair: Kristin Smith (Virginia Beach, VA)
Rural Caucus Chair: Braxton Marcela (Hampden-Sydney, VA)
Veterans Issues Caucus Chair: Jerry Griffin (Lynchburg, VA)
Women’s Caucus Chair: Corinne Vigen (Richmond, VA)

About VAYD:

The Virginia Young Democrats is a statewide organization forDemocrats under the age of 36. With over 30 chapters, the Virginia Young Democrats are the premiere youth-led volunteer organization for Democrats in the commonwealth. Visit vayd.org to learn more about the organization and to contribute to thousands of young Virginians seeking to make Virginia a better place for our generation.

VAYD Annual Convention

March 17-19, 2017
Harrisonburg, VA

Follow Us On Twitter!

Like Us On Facebook!


User login